CFL Western Division Final

The CFL Western Division final is the final stepping stone for teams in the Canadian Football League's Western Division, before reaching the Grey Cup match.

Whoever ends up winning the CFL Western Division final, faces the winner of the CFL Eastern Division Final, in the Grey Cup.

Order your Western Division Final Tickets here at!

CFL Western Division Final tickets sale

Sorry, no dates are listed. Be first to be notified when tickets become available!

Overall Average CFL Western Division Final Rating

CFL Western Division Final Tickets Continued

In 1980, the CFL's two conferences agreed to a full merger and a full interlocking schedule. Although the WFC has carried on since that time as the CFL's West Division, full authority is now vested within the CFL. The decision to create a full interlocking schedule meant that the teams were playing fewer divisional games, consequently the league decided add two extra divisional games per team, thus extending the schedule to 18 games per team starting in 1986.

The West Division has undergone major changes since the dissolution of the WFC. In 1987 an East Division team, the Montreal Alouettes, folded. Consequently, Winnipeg was transferred to the East Division to keep the divisions equal in size. This led to the first "all-Western" Grey Cup in 1988 when the Winnipeg Blue Bombers won the East Division championship for the first time.

In 1993, the CFL decided to expand to the United States, leading to the addition of the league's first American-based team, the Sacramento Gold Miners. In 1994, the division added a sixth team, the Las Vegas Posse. Following the 1994 season, the Posse folded while the Gold Miners moved to San Antonio and became the Texans. For the 1995 season, all eight Canadian teams competed in the North Division.

Prior to the 1996 season however, all of the American clubs disbanded, with one (the Baltimore Stallions) returning to Montreal. The pre-1987 divisional alignment was restored, only to see Winnipeg return to the East after one season when the Ottawa Rough Riders folded. The Winnipeg Blue Bombers returned to the West in 2002 after an expansion franchise was granted in the nation's capital. With the suspension of the Ottawa Renegades for the 2006 season, the Blue Bombers moved back to the East for at least the 2006 season.

Related Events