US Open Cup Tickets

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is an American soccer competition open to all United States Soccer Federation affiliated teams, from amateur adult club teams all the way to the professional teams of Major League Soccer.

The competition dates back to 1914, when it was known as the National Challenge Cup. The competition was, in modern times, known just as the U.S. Open Cup, but was renamed the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup in 1999 to honor one of American Soccer's most important patrons. The winners of the Cup are currently awarded the DeWar Cup, donated by Sir Thomas DeWar for the promotion of soccer in America in 1914. The Cup was retired in 1979, but brought back into use by the USASA in 1997, and is on permanent display at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, New York.

US Open Cup tickets continued

US Open Cup Tickets

Sorry, no dates are listed. Be first to be notified when tickets become available!

Overall Average US Open Cup Rating

US Open Cup Tickets Continued

The National Challenge Cup was the first truly national cup competition in the United States, as previous cups had been effectively relegated to regional status by the difficulties in coordination and travel caused by the size of the United States in the early 1900's.

Macabees SC of Los Angeles, Fall River F.C. of Massachusetts, and Bethlehem Steel F.C. of Pennsylvania have each won the cup a record five times, while Greek American AA of New York hold the record for most consecutive cup victories at three.

Since 1996, with the formation of Major League Soccer, professional teams have dominated the competition, with MLS clubs winning the cup all but one of those years. The Rochester Raging Rhinos of the 2nd division A-League (now the USL First Division) were surprise winners in 1999, defeating MLS club Colorado Rapids. The first professional team to win in the modern era were the Richmond Kickers of the USISL (the current USL First Division) in 1995, one year before the start of MLS. D.C. United were the first MLS team to win in 1996.

Currently, all 12 MLS teams automatically qualify, while eight teams from the USL First Division, six from the USL Second Division, eight from the USL Premier Development League, and eight from the United States Adult Soccer Association take part as well.